10 June 2012

Sunday's Brunch: Book news & the cover that went around twitterverse in 60 seconds

Today will be a quickie Sunday’s Brunch because I’m not yet recovered from the LLC experience. I have to get back to work next week and need to be doing good, else the doctor think I’m not advancing in my recovery from Mono *sigh*

So what do I have, other than the promise I will have two or three LLC posts up next week, recapping all the crazy events. Well, I stumbled on a great one day offer for a book I was intrigued by from the start. I have mucho covers and THE cover that went round the twitterverse in record speed. I also have a new series on my radar I think is interesting. So here I go.

From the moment rumors started to pop up that Qhuin and Blay from J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series might end up with a novella, friends and I started to question the validity of those rumors. I mean, I’m still traumatized from the promise Vishious contained and the execution of his story.

But let’s move on. Blay and Qhuin would mean a full on out male/male story. In a mainstream series. It is a bold move and I only know of Suzanne Brockmann doing a male/male novella in a mainstream series. We talked about if the publisher would actually publish such a story, if J.R. Ward would back off eventually. I wondered but simultaneously I hoped she would make it happen. Last week she noted on her facebook page the title and cover of Qhuin and Blay’s story would be revealed soon. The tension among us book lovers leaped to feverish heights!

And then the moment was there…the reveal of the title and the cover. I can tell you within seconds my timeline was full of cover reveal posts and squee’s of joy with links to the facebook announcement. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a cover go viral that fast! But of course *I* had to have this beauty posted as well. It has a gorgeous man on the cover with a green and a blue eye, and I love the look on his face. I can’t wait for the blurb and release date to be announced as well!


The next covers are practically an ode to the male form, ink on skin, abs and all. Let me just give you the view and be quiet for a moment.




I love them all and the Stephanie Tyler cover is made of awesome except...what the f*ck is up with that fake long hair...give him a haircut because it looks like its plastered on the guys head involutary!!!

So that's for my cover section. Now onto some info info I think you would all like. A very cheap book.

Do you remeber the debut A Discovery Of Witches. Well I got an e-mail from a Viking publicist and I'll give you a quote from said e-mail:
We are doing a special one day only offer of the ebook of A Discovery of Witches this Sunday, June 10th. It will be only $2.99 almost everywhere ebooks are sold (Amazon, Barnes &Noble, Apple and Kobo).

Find out more and read reviews on Goodreads.

Last week I also got some info in my inbox about a new series and the blurb from book one intrigued me.

Paperback, 359 pages
Expected publication: June 12th 2012 by Montlake Romance
ISBN 161218331X (ISBN13: 9781612183312)
Language: English
Series: Night Prowler #1

Summary Goodreads:
Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Karen Marie Moning will be captivated by this edgy, sensual new paranormal series about an ancient dynasty of shape-shifters locked in a centuries-old battle for power, and the dangerous attraction between their leader and the woman who may be the downfall of them all.

Deep within the primeval forests of southern England, a race of beautiful, savage shape-shifters lives hidden from the everyday world. Bound together by ancient bloodlines and a ruthless code of secrecy that punishes traitors with death, the Ikati send their leader Leander on a mission to capture one raised outside the tribe before she can expose their secret. When Leander tracks the unsuspecting outsider to Southern California, the hardened warrior is prepared for a fight—but not for the effect the sensual young beauty has on his heart.

Jenna spent her childhood in hiding, on the run from someone—or something—her parents refused to discuss. She trusts no one, not since her father’s mysterious disappearance, not since her mother’s sudden death, and definitely not since she began exhibiting strange, superhuman abilities. When handsome, enigmatic Leander appears, promising answers to the mysteries that shroud her past, she knows she shouldn’t trust him either. But their connection is undeniable, and as powerful as the enemy hell-bent on destroying every one of their kind…


To me the setting and the characters sound exciting and fresh. The romance intense, the men feral and the women have backbone. So what could I do but put it on the wishlist ;)

J.T. Geissinger on the www:
website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter | Pre-order @ Amazon

8 comments:

  1. Very inspiring covers...

    I just haven't been able to get into the JR Ward series at all, but the rest look very good.

    Cheers,

    t.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I absolutely adore the first three in the BDB series but after that its been up or down for me :( I'm loving all the covers as well and Donna Grant...OMG, I already knew from a friend she was expanding her Dark Sword series but wow...she must have a evol work shedule!

      Delete
  2. The thing that would've made the JRW cover better would've been two guys on the cover. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah...each cover has two persons on it...it would have been wicked if Qhuin AND Blay would've been on it. Do you think they would've made the Misadventures in Stock Photography? ;)

      Delete
  3. :) Great covers, all of them!

    And, just kind of a heads up, I'll have J.T. on my blog this next week, and I *believe* she mentioned something about a giveaway for Shadow's Edge... Don't hold me to that though, I'm not 100% sure yet. lol.

    Enjoy!
    TBQ
    TBQ's Book Palace

    ReplyDelete
  4. you kid me not!!! Again I must check it out. And I really need to add you to my blogroll, each time i think about it it slips my mind just as fast *shameface*

    ReplyDelete
  5. Yup, the new Ward cover was everywhere :=)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I can promise that the Jennifer Ashley and Melissa Mayhue books are worth their covers, very good series. I have no idea what I will be doing with the next JR Ward book, as I really do not like gay romance. Perhaps skip the romance and read all the other storylines.

    ReplyDelete

I love to hear all your voices and opinions so thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.